Career & competencies

Lukas Röper is one of Austria’s leading experts in the fields of banking & finance and financial services, with more than 15 years of experience in international banks, law firms and commercial law firms. He and his team moved to PHH Rechtsanwälte from PwC, where he was head of the Financial Services division. Previous positions include those of General Counsel, Regulatory SPOC, Corporate Secretary and Head of Participations at international banks.

Lukas advises international banks and financial institutions on questions of banking and regulatory law and on financial, portfolio and NPL transactions.

He is an expert in bank M&A and advises international investors on the acquisition of banks and financial institutions as well as on start-ups. His ties to the financial sector are not limited to his work as a consultant, but also include his current and previous appointments as a member of the supervisory boards of various banks and investment firms.

Lukas also leads the Private Wealth and CIS Desks. He provides advice and support to clients in connection with their entry into the Austrian market, with Asset Relocation Corporate Migration and with setting up Family Office structures. He is also a certified compliance and data protection officer, author of numerous specialist publications on the subject of financial law and a lecturer at Vienna University for banking M&A.

Lukas qualified as a lawyer in 2009 and has been a partner at PHH Rechtsanwälte since 2020.

He speaks German, English and basic Russian.

What motivates me:
Getting the deal through!

What would I be now if I had not become a lawyer:
A physician.

My three greatest passions:
Skiing, travel and family.

What others say.

Karriere & Kompetenzen

Lukas Röper ist einer der führenden österreichischen Experten in den Bereichen Banking & Finance und Financial Services, mit mehr als 15 Jahren Erfahrung in internationalen Banken, Anwaltskanzleien und Wirtschaftskanzleien. Von PwC, wo er den Bereich Financial Services leitete, wechselte er mit seinem Team zu PHH Rechtsanwälte. Frühere Positionen umfassen die des General Counsel, des Regulatory SPOC, des Corporate Secretary und des Head of Participations bei internationalen Banken.

Lukas berät internationale Banken und Finanzinstitute in Fragen des Bank- und Aufsichtsrechts sowie bei Finanz-, Portfolio- und NPL-Transaktionen.

Er ist Experte für Banken-M&A und berät internationale Investoren beim Erwerb von Banken und Finanzinstituten sowie bei Start-ups. Seine Verbindungen zur Finanzbranche beschränken sich nicht nur auf seine Tätigkeit als Berater, sondern umfassen auch seine aktuellen und früheren Mandate als Mitglied des Aufsichtsrats verschiedener Banken und Investmentfirmen.

Lukas leitet auch die Private Wealth und CIS-Desks. Er berät und unterstützt Mandanten beim Eintritt in den österreichischen Markt, bei Vermögensverlagerungen, Unternehmensmigrationen und beim Aufbau von Family Office Strukturen. Er ist zudem zertifizierter Compliance- und Datenschutzbeauftragter, Autor zahlreicher Fachpublikationen zum Thema Finanzrecht und Lehrbeauftragter an der Universität Wien für Banking M&A.

Lukas ist seit 2009 als Rechtsanwalt zugelassen und seit 2020 Partner bei PHH Rechtsanwälte.

Er spricht Deutsch, Englisch und verfügt über Grundkenntnisse der russischen Sprache.

Was treibt mich an:
Getting the deal through!

Wenn ich nicht Anwalt geworden wäre, wäre ich jetzt:
Arzt.

Meine drei größten Leidenschaften:
Skifahren, Reisen und Familie.

What others say.